I’ve been waiting for some sort of trailer to surface for this movie. Finally, I get a trailer, and half of it turns out to be from the previous two films. Nevertheless, I’m still extremely excited for this movie, and they show enough for you to get excited as well. Over at the Firstshowing.net, they’ve got the trailer up and running.
Between the car chase at the end of Supremacy, and a few of the action set pieces in Casino Royale, this movie has a lot to live up to. Hopefully, Greengrass pulls back from his shaky-cam a bit this time. It’s tough to tell from the trailer clips, but it seems like he might have. He even added some slow-motion. God, I really can’t wait for this. August 7th can’t come soon enough.
Now I’m a bit behind on this, but if you haven’t seen it (which is possible, considering Rockstar’s website was completely flooded when the trailer was released), you need to. It’s really not much, but it’s finally some footage of GTA IV. The game series that I believe was somewhat hampered by the technical limitations of the last generation of consoles will soon arrive on a new generation.
As usual, Gametrailers has a couple of videos – one in HD and one in regular definition. This is what I envision when I think of next-gen consoles. For once, a Rockstar game looks impressive. It looks like they’re going back to Liberty City, and this time it’s even more obvious that it’s New York City, what with the Chrysler Building and Statue of Liberty and all. I also liked the “GetaLife” building. I was surprised by the choice of a Russian guy for the protagonist, but I have faith in Rockstar in making this game another amazing experience in line with the rest of the series, and hopefully even better. I know that Take-Two has been in some trouble lately, so they need this game to be huge.
The combination of Halo 3 and GTA4 this year is going to be ridiculous.
Don’t you just want to hit him in the face with one of his own fastballs?
For a while now, the term “hired gun” has been thrown around in baseball, referring to a pitcher who displays no loyalty, or one that seems to jump from team to team, mostly among contenders. Maybe I’m going out on a limb here, but I think Clemens just might fit the mold. He’s played for more than half of the AL East and after he “retired,” he decided to play half-seasons for the Astros for fun – and money. This year might be different. The Yankees might be desperate enough to throw an unimaginable amount of money in Clemens’s face. Like $1 million a start money. Then Clemens will inject an inhuman dose of HGH so he can help them into the playoffs, but then he’ll pull a muscle. Hopefully, someone mixes some poison into his steroid syringe.
It’s really getting too hard to deny that the guy is the best pitcher of at least the past 25 years, and believe me, it pains me to say it since he’s an absolute asshole. He still manages to completely own the NL whenever he feels like pitching. It is the NL, but it’s impressive nonetheless. And really, the other candidates all have their personal or professional shortcomings. Nolan Ryan was a badass, but he walked half as many guys as he struck out, which translates to A LOT. Pedro is also an asshole (albeit a much funnier one) who tosses old guys to the ground. Randy Johnson – another big dick – kills birds, and took until he was in his 30s to learn how to pitch. And Greg Maddux pees on rookies in the shower. Goddamn it Gooden, why did you have to get addicted to coke?
But to get back on topic, I’m really getting sick of the media attention Clemens’s “decision” is receiving, if you didn’t notice. Leave his fat ass alone in Texas. He shouldn’t be allowed to pull this shit, yet I guess I can’t blame teams for wanting his services with the dearth of legitimately great pitchers out there. But he’s 45 at this point. Let him just sit at home and gain 100 pounds. It’s what he really wants. It’s what we all want.
Baseball is almost here. As of 8:05 EST on Sunday, the 2007 MLB regular season will have started. I can’t fucking wait. Baseball just owns everything. I really enjoy the NFL and all, but it’s only 16 games and it’s only one day a week. Baseball is basically every damn day for six months, and hopefully more. It’s so awesome.
If you’re wondering why I have a picture of Busch Stadium, of all places, it’s because that’s where Opening Night is taking place. Opening Night sounds weird, though. It really should just be Opening Day for all the teams on Monday. But anyway, Mets vs. Cardinals – 8:05 EST, ESPN2. Glavine vs. Carpenter. Be there.
I really need to make a predictions post for the 2007 season.
And if that wasn’t enough, the night before will be filled with Ohio State vs. Georgetown and Florida vs. UCLA. I personally care about the former about five times more. Not only because of an East Coast bias, but because it includes the first clash of two legitimate collegiate big men in 20 years in Greg “I swear I’m 18″ Oden and Roy Hibbert. You’re already heard that a million times though, so I’ll refrain from hyping it up any more. I just hope Hibbert puts up more of a fight than the last guy who had to match up against Oden. His name isnt even worth mentioning nor remembering because he made a fool out of himself. As for the other game, I just want Florida to lose. I don’t want the championship game to look like this:
Edit: I didn’t even realize the Mavs and Suns were facing each other again this Sunday. Unfortunately, there’s about a .001% chance of the game being better than their last matchup.
According to some blog called Gadling, 11 7-Elevens (yea, they had to make it confusing like that) are going to be turned into Kwik-E-Marts to promote the upcoming Simpsons movie. I don’t know how reliable the source is, but digg.com seems to be all over it. I mean, it would be pretty damn awesome if our local 7-11 turned into a Kwik-E-Mart – which is probably why everyone that reads about this story on digg wants to believe it. I would buy a digital camera just so I had visual documentation of that monumental occurrence. A guy from our town won Survivor, but I didn’t give a shit about that or his parade. A Kwik-E-Mart would be so much cooler, even though I haven’t watched the Simpsons in over 5 years. Plus, we already have Indians working there!
On the other hand, what 7-11 doesn’t?
But really, they’re cool guys. And Anheuser-Busch really needs to release a special 6-pack edition of Duff.
On a side note: Once again, something that’s not a live skit is the funniest thing that was aired on SNL this week. (Not that I even know firsthand, since I don’t watch it and only wait for the funny skits to make the internet rounds.) But really, shouldn’t that be a bit unsettling? A show built around the concept of being “live,” and its most popular skits nowadays are all pre-recorded stuff? I guess that happens when your cast absolutely sucks.
A little over a week ago, I made a post about how awesome Steve Nash is. Since I gushed over Nash’s performance in the Mavs-Suns 2OT thriller, the Lakers have had four games. Kobe has scored 65, 50, 60, and 50 again in those four games. Jordan never scored 50 in four straight games. Apparently, Kobe was personally offended by me claiming Nash as a deity.
Kobe is in company with only Wilt at this point, much like with his single-game high of 81 points. If he ever manages to win a title without Shaq, I think we may have to put him in the same category as Jordan. There is no other player in the NBA that can just dominate at will like he has been doing. Phil Jackson just needs to point and say, “score” and Kobe does it. It’s getting ridiculous at this point.
The website only has 55,591 people signed up at the moment. That’s not even a dent into the massive online community. And 9,010 people said they can’t do it. I bet all of those people play World of Warcraft. We all know they can’t stop for 24 hours.
I guess it’s a cool idea, but it should be pushed back so more people can find out about it. I signed up just for the hell of it. I’ll be sleeping for half of the day anyway, then I’ll watch college basketball, and then I’ll actually get some homework done too. I wonder if video game consoles count as computers. I’m just going to assume they don’t. And neither does my iPod. But my laptop will be off for the whole day at least.
So I was on Amazon.com yesterday for no particular reason when I saw something pretty disturbing. Ok, I was actually thinking of purchasing a book called “Apocalypse 2012″ after reading some of it at Borders but this is beside the point. Whether or not I’m obsessed with the world ending is irrevelant to this music discussion. On the other hand, maybe they are related - when Shania Twain and 50 Cent are on the list of The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s “200 Essential Albums” list, there can’t be much hope for this world. Apparently, the list was actually compiled by NARM (Numerous Atrocious Ranking Makers), but The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is presenting it as if it were their own, so John Bonham must be not just rolling in his grave, but drinking himself into a stupor wherever he is and consequently beating the shit out of everyone within a 50 foot radius. Keith Moon is probably joining him in also trashing the place beyond recognition.
Truly, The Rock and Roll HOF just blew every bad list in the history of the world out of the water. Some guy could put Ellen Degeneres, Roseanne, and Rosie O’Donnell on a “Hottest Celebrities Ever” list and it wouldn’t be half as horrifying as this mockery. And the fact that they actually ranked the albums as well makes the whole thing worse. Due to this decision, I only have one functioning eye left, since I repeatedly stabbed one with a plastic knife. Shania Twain is at 21. Enimem, Outkast, Dr. Dre and Beastie Boys are listed consecutively at 28-31. There’s the TITANIC SOUNDTRACK. I can’t even do this anymore.
And of course, it’s not just the albums that are included, but the mind-blowing omissions. One in particular – SOUNDGARDEN. Maybe I should mail each person who was a part of making this list a Superunknown CD. They obviously haven’t heard it. I mean, that song Black Hole Sun was really only played on underground radio stations. It would be too harsh and juvenile of me to feel the need to punch them all in the face. Alice in Chains is also not there. Neither is Nine Inch Nails. Same goes for Deep Purple and Megadeth. And I’m not a Sonic Youth fan, but I know they have an extremely loyal following.
Maybe I shouldn’t expect much from a supposed rock and roll institution that has yet to induct Rush after 5 years of eligibility. KISS isn’t in either (also not on the list), and I know thousands of middle-aged men aren’t too happy with that. Sure, I want to shoot myself everytime I hear more than three seconds of “Rock and Roll All Nite” but their influence on ROCK is undeniable; unlike, say, Norah Jones’s impact. Plus, Strutter is a pretty sweet song in Guitar Hero II.
It’s just embarassing that the ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME would be at all involved with this list. I really don’t give a shit that they didn’t make it and the list is supposed to be a varied list of whatever has been popular throughout the years. This would be like the NFL presenting a list of the greatest athletes of all-time across all sports. I just can’t wrap my head around this.
It’s always nice to get some respite from the typical A-Rod and Bonds ESPN (and the rest of the media, really) coverage. No steroids or children’s books that reveal deep seeded emotional problems – just a guy that spits out awesome quotes like Charles Barkley in his heyday. He’s called Jay Mariotti a ‘fucking fag’, and A-Rod a ‘hypocrite’; he basically says whatever he wants because he brought home the first ChiSox title in almost a century.
Now his latest, spurred on by talk of the 20-year reunion of the 1983 playoff White Sox team in 2003:
”Those ceremonies — ‘Oh, let’s bring back those guys from 2005,’ we’re all crippled and fucked up, pushing wheelchairs, kids crying because his dad was on the ballclub — fuck that,” Guillen said. ”I don’t need that bull. A bunch of fat guys, another one is broke. ‘Hey, where’s your ring?’ ‘Oh, I don’t know, I sold that son of a bitch two years ago.’”
Amazing. It just doesn’t get much better than that. For a guy who doesn’t speak English perfectly well, he sure knows how to paint a graphic picture. The baseball season kicks off in a week and Ozzie is already in top form.