Call of Duty 4 Has Ruined Console FPSs For Me

2008 March 31
by CajoleJuice

So the Battlefield: Bad Company beta started this past week. And Halo 3 got a bunch of maps made available for free. Too bad I will barely touch either. I played BF: BC for about 15 minutes, and every moment I couldn’t help thinking, “I’d rather be playing COD4.” I really should create a bumper sticker of that phrase.

The game has the best feel and gunplay I’ve ever experienced, I think on either PC or console. I still can’t believe how much I enjoy playing the game with a controller. The last time I was this addicted to a game was Counter-Strike: Source upon its release. The Call of Duty series has been revered for its transcendent gunplay since its inception, but bringing the game into a modern setting has created a monster. The 360 version has been the best-selling game for the four months since its release. Its streak will no doubt be stopped by the 360 version of Rainbow Six: Vegas 2 this month, but I don’t see it dropping off the top spot on XBL activity anytime soon. I’ve heard anecdotes of people in R6:V2 games saying that they’re just gonna go back to COD4. Halo 3 will most likely eventually take the crown back, at least in that lull before Gears of War 2 hits.

With four new maps coming out this week, COD4 is going to be on top for a while. Shamefully, this map pack will make me break my DLC rule. $10 for four maps, and I’m going to shell out because Infinity Ward owns me. But since I’m not going to be playing any other FPSs, I might as well get the full COD4 experience.

What It’d Be Like If I Still Had an LJ

2008 March 31
by CajoleJuice

If you don’t me personally, I cannot be responsible for you not caring about things in this entry.

Subject: Hot 28 year olds
Time: 2:30 am
Mood: tired
Music: King Crimson – Epitaph

Just to start this off on a comedy note.

Maybe that ties in with the fact that I am such a horrible driver. I will crash and barrel roll like that dog. I zone out all the time, maintain a speed 15-20 mph over the limit, and have gotten into almost as many fender-benders as Tara Johnson. Which is why I will never drive drunk. That would not be good. For anyone. I’d end up doing 110 down the wrong side of Nichols. Which reminds me of Bob telling me Friday night that Ryan once drove from Stony Brook to Sayville Sevs in 7 minutes. Total bullshit. They were drunk and/or stoned out of their minds. Time lost all meaning.

[DELETED DUE TO HYPOCRITICAL COMPLAINING]

Anyway, then Bob came and took things over. He basically commanded us to get the fuck out of there. I agreed to go with him to another bar. So we were on our way to the Wharf, but not before Jim Hailey ran at me from out of the cemetery while I had my dick out taking a piss. That was a bit disconcerting. He said he’d probably meet us there. He never did. The drive down the road to the wharf was awesome in itself, because Bob decided to blast the German techno song from Super Troopers. You love it.

Now it’s time for the title of this entry to be introduced. When we got to the Wharf, I recognized the bartender — but Bob was buddy-buddy with him. Steve the Bartender. He did remember me from Portly, though. I had watched him do some card tricks, and fails at others. At some point while drinking, a girl appeared next to me on the corner of the bar. I truly don’t remember when she appeared. I just know that she was hot. Of course, Bob and I started talking to her, but right off the bat she brought up her boyfriend. Hopes were shattered. She only continued to bring up her boyfriend in the myriad of discussions we had. I just remember she had awesome taste in music. And that she was a damn hot 28 year old. Once shots started getting tossed around, it was game over. Somehow it came to be 3 am. I remember getting a buttered roll after leaving. Every night needs a 7-11 buttered roll.

So baseball started tonight. Those games in Japan didn’t really count. Bud Selig is an idiot. Only games in America and its territories count. I believe the Red Sox and A’s actually had preseason games after those games in Japan, too. Hilarious. Not as hilarious as watching the Braves play defense like a bad high school JV team. And watching Brian McCann get thrown out at second on a 375-foot shot. Yet, the Nationals still needed extra innings to beat them. Well, the Braves losing is obviously a good start to the season. Listening to Joe Morgan and Jon Miller was not. And then George Bush joined them. It was the most surreal thing I’ve ever seen on television. Bush was sitting there, laying back in his chair, as if he didn’t have a care in the world, talking about baseball and whatever other bullshit they mentioned. I really don’t know, as I totally zoned them out at the point. Yet, after a half-inning, I was shocked that Bush was still there. The dude is the fucking supposed leader of the free world and he’s talking it up with two horrible baseball announcers for a couple of innings. Oh yeah, just remembered that he got booed pretty mercilessly when he threw the first pitch.

Also, an interview on 60 Minutes revealed that the player Bill James would most like to have on his team is David Wright. He is obviously gay for him. Understandable, as he is only human.

So everyone has seen this picture by now right?

Tropic Thunder to be the second-best movie of the year behind The Dark Knight. Robert Downey Jr. is awesome.

And here’s some funny wrestling gifs.

Oh, professional wrestling.

I don’t know what else to talk about. I know that “21st Century Schizoid Man” is pretty much the best song to play in Audiosurf. I’ve been just listening to In The Court of the Crimson King over and over lately. “Epitaph” is so amazing. And of course, the album closer makes me want to watch Children of Men.

That’s all I got. Opening DAY is tomorrow. The true start to the baseball season. The last home opener for Yankee Stadium. Johan Santana starting his first game for the Mets. God, I fucking love it.

Quotes of the Day:

Frank: WHERE’S MY MONEY!
repeat 10x over the course of the night

Anth (on my Facebook): Asia would’ve smoked that guy!

Some chick: Hope to see you around.
Some dude on GAF: I doubt that. The city is too big.

frankcalisee: i could do without these announcers
CajoleJuice: the world could
CajoleJuice: i’ve been watching dexter
CajoleJuice: i’d love to see an episode
CajoleJuice: where he kills both of them

Pretty Much the Best Nirvana Song

2008 March 26
by CajoleJuice

I was going to put “favorite” instead of “best,” but the latter always spawns more arguing.

I have a different history with Nirvana than most kids my age. Of course, I knew and had heard “Smells Like Teen Spirit” growing up, but I never really listened to Nirvana until my early teens. The first album of theirs that I listened to was From the Muddy Banks of the Wishkah, and it was a live compilation of awesome. And then I graduated to MTV Unplugged, their magnum opus. And those two are all you need. Nevermind is no doubt a great album, but compared to these two live disks, it just doesn’t have the same power and rawness.

Anyway, the song right below here is the version of “Scentless Apprentice” off of Wishkah/MTV Live and Loud. The first time I heard the album version, I was totally underwhelmed. After hearing this, almost everything seems weak.

Man, I wish I could’ve seen Nirvana live. And wasted out of my mind.

Things I Learned This St. Patrick’s Day

2008 March 19
by CajoleJuice

- St. Patrick’s Day REALLY is always on the 17th. I was just getting mixed up because of something I read about the Church changing its official date due to it falling on Holy Week. It was actually moved to the previous Friday, the 14th. No moving will occur again in any of our lifetimes.

- Visibly underaged girls are apparently allowed to drink in bars on this Irish holiday.

- The Boondock Saints is the Irish movie of my generation, as it was playing in the Half Penny (my local Irish pub) the whole night.

- The owners of the Half Penny obviously overheard my criticism of their new couches a week or so ago. They were replaced with tables and stools. An immeasurable improvement. I still don’t know what the hell they were thinking. Couches? In a bar? That’s like crosses in a mosque.

- Whenever I question why I drink, I answer by drinking more.

- “Oh, you don’t want to know what we were talking about” is a creepy thing to say to a chick that has just randomly walked up to your table. We were talking about the policy of isolation. I bet she truly didn’t want to hear about it. I’m just honest!

- Michael Jackson, Rihanna, and Alien Ant Farm — among others — are Irish musicians.

I Don’t Care About Super Smash Bros. Brawl

2008 March 17

Yes, you can say writing a post about SSBB entails that “I care about it,” but I can also say you’re an idiot.

Getting that out of the way, let me explain why I — a massive fan of Super Smash Bros. Melee — came to be completely indifferent to the release of its sequel, a game many fully-grown adults have been looking forward to with the excitement of their 12-year-old counterparts with whom they probably embarrassingly waited in line at midnight a week ago.

I turned in my Nintard card a couple of years ago

Maybe it was going through my high school years. Maybe it was the disappointing trio of Metroid Prime 2, Zelda: Twilight Princess, and the naming of the Wii. Maybe it’s that Nintendo has been surpassed by multiple developers. Maybe I’m no longer a manchild slave to a Japanese gaming company. I just know I don’t slobber over every (or any) big Nintendo release anymore. Super Mario Galaxy almost got me, but one game wasn’t enough. The fact that I don’t play games too much with my friends in person anymore, combined with the fact that pretty much no one I know owns a Wii, sucked any wind out of my hype for Brawl, the last hope for a while that Nintendo had for getting my gaming dollar, meanwhile I like to also play casino games in the two up casino so I can also make some money as well. You may also try casino games like spaceman slotif you want an exciting way to win amazing prizes. LevelUp casino has good interface which makes gaming enjoyable. If you’re looking for online casino games where you can win cash prizes, then you may check out these slot88 games! Bitcoin casinos are also becoming popular as players find them to be more transparent and trustworthy than their traditional online counterparts. You can find the best crypto casinos at www.bitcoinlister.com. The best new crypto presales can be found at cryptsy.com. Spire Exchange is a smart platform to manage your digital assets.

I have more than enough to play on my Xbox 360

Call of Duty 4, Burnout Paradise, Mass Effect, Halo 3, Guitar Hero III, and tons of XBLA titles. I’m not going to be done playing all of these games for a while. Playing a game where Mario and Sonic fight each other might have been high on checklist when I was in elementary school. YEAH SNES VS. GENESIS

I have rediscovered 2D fighting games

After at least a dozen years of ignoring true 2D fighting, I have recently purchased used copies of Guilty Gear X2 #Reload and Street Fighter Anniversary Collection. I cannot believe the awesome I have missed. And King of Fighters XII looks amazing. Just look at it! I now understand the contempt many hardcore fighting fans have for the Smash Bros. series. It is truly child’s play in comparison.

Brawl is slower than Melee

Apparently, the Japanese dude behind Brawl felt that going back to original Nintendo 64 speed was for the best, as he thought Melee was too hectic. This only adds to the proof that this game is MADE FOR CHILDREN.

Its fans on the internet frighten me

The GAF hype thread for SSBB was the biggest in GAF history. It was an embarrassing collection of manchildren circle-jerking over every bit of information. Five pages would be dedicated to the announcement of a new stage. I’m disgusted that I even made a post about the game a year ago. I’m not even going to acknowledge other things might or might not have posted on the internet concerning the game.

And the fans in real life too

And I quote:

When I was leaving the mall, this group of nintendorks was walking in. The mall security guard was all, “YOU AINT COMIN IN HERE BITCHES!”

Later, we were walking away when this same group of dorks from behind us yelles, “YOU GUYS GET THE GAME?!” My friend and I started to walk faster. “CAN WE SEE IT!?” We began to walk a little bit faster. “WE JUST WANT TO SEE IT.” I started to run.

Luckily we made it back okay.

The horror stories of midnight launches never cease to amaze.

The online implementation is total shit

Between PC online gaming and now XBL, I expect halfway decent online features and performance in my gaming. Nintendo has pretty much never supplied this. Tetris DS is one game that was great to play online, but it still had friend codes. Not to mention that’s a handheld, where I don’t expect quite as much. Brawl doesn’t keep stats in matchmaking, has friend codes, and has no way for friends to communicate with one another. Good job, Nintendo. No stats in matchmaking because you want the focus to be on “fun.” Sounds like my gym class 15 years ago. If you had fun, you won.

I’m not going to buy a Wii anytime soon

$250 is too much for a console which only has two games that I’m interested in playing. Granted, I could most likely get a good amount of my money back if I sold the console after playing the games, but it’s still a pain in the ass to find. And since that’s the case, there is no price drop in sight. I hate people.

 https://tugwellcreekfarm.com/

https://www.digitaljournal.com/pr/news/binary-news-network/spire-expands-platform-support-integrated-1192131547.html

This is Why I’ve Never Done Fantasy Baseball

2008 March 15

Well I have, but I’ve always missed the drafts and never touched my teams all season.

Which probably worked out better for me, since two nights ago I had my GAF Yahoo Fantasy Baseball draft I did this:

(1) David Wright

I couldn’t let any other team have him. Just watch! A-Rod will get hurt this year, and I’ll look like a genius! (Pujols, Hanley and Reyes will also need to get hurt).

This IRC chat log sums it up:

WasabiKing: who was your first pick?
CajoleJuice: david wright
CajoleJuice: he’s my boy
WasabiKing: and like I always say, NEVER pick with your heart
WasabiKing: oh man you are fucked

Dropbox: File Syncer, Sender, and Sharer of the Future?

2008 March 15

http://getdropbox.com/

The creation of some MIT students, Dropbox looks to be one the next huge internet apps. Watch the video and be impressed. If I had a bunch of computers, both PC and Mac, this would be even more invaluable. As it is, I’ll be able to use it to host files and sync files between home and school (and work in the future) for free! There is a program called Foldershare that already does such a task, but both computers need to be on, it’s Windows only, and it doesn’t have a nice Web 2.0 interface. The bad part about Dropbox is that they are planning on eventually charging for it. They’ll hook you, and then make you pay for it. Similar to when I started destroying my Photobucket bandwidth and had to get Pro. Damn GAF.

How awesome it will be in the future truly depends on the price. If it’s cheap compared to hosting, it’ll be very popular purely for music sharing purposes. I can’t wait to get my email invite, as I’ll immediately take advantage and post songs on my blog. I DID buy my own domain and hosting service, but I canceled the hosting service. I am so damn lazy, and Dropbox would be so much easier for posting things such as that on my blog to allow for downloads.

The Best Thing to Ever Come Out of WoW: Stefen Colbear

2008 March 15

The amount of AMERICA in that picture brings a tear to my eye. Yet, reports say Stephen Colbert’s agent shot down a World of Warcraft card with this likeness on it. I’d like to think this is not what Colbert would have wanted. The only explanation could be that Colbert doesn’t want to be associated with something as horrible as WoW. If he made such an announcement on his show, I would only idolize him more. But I’d still use this as my wallpaper.

Here is my wallpaper version (1022 x 763). Yeah, just hit the “stretch” setting. It’ll look fine on a 4×3 monitor.

Best Politics GIF Ever?

2008 March 11

 Man, I’m just taking stuff from GAF lately. Whatever.

So awesome.

More Starcraft 2: Zerg Gameplay Video

2008 March 10

I need a new PC for this.