How American Are You?

2007 January 18
by CajoleJuice

Take this simple geography test to find out. Take your time, since apparently the time taken doesn’t affect your score.

Courtesy of Addictinggames.com.

I got a score of 90.16 in 133 seconds, with 46/51 perfect. I would’ve done better if I knew speed didn’t matter. I still did pretty damn good. I wonder how Bush would do. I’m dead serious.

“Sunshine” Trailer: Stunning

2007 January 17
by CajoleJuice

Here’s the trailer.

As it says in the trailer, this is coming from Danny Boyle, the director of Trainspotting and 28 Days Later and a few other films, none of which I have seen. I’ve been meaning to check out Trainspotting for a long time, though. But just from watching that trailer, I am very interested in this movie, even if the idea seems extremely farfetched. It’s an original idea and it sure does look absolutely amazing, and the Requiem for a Dream theme is always great. If it was directed by Michael Bay, I’d expect the usual blockbuster fare, but I hope this movie has more to it. Sunshine now sits pretty high on my most anticipated list. At the moment, it’s set for a March 16th release date – a week after 300. Perfect.

My 2006 Playlist

2007 January 17
by CajoleJuice

This was actually pretty tough to do, considering I was keeping it to one song per band. I haven’t really listened to enough new music this year, which is why I’m doing this playlist post instead of a “Best Albums” list. Even the album I listened to most this year – Muse’s “Black Holes and Revelations” – I felt was a bit disappointing overall. Although, I did have a few nice surprises such as Rodrigo y Gabriela’s self-titled album and The Black Keys “Magic Potion”. Without further ado, here is my rock-dominated playlist for 2006, complete with Youtube links for songs I could find them for (easiest way for you to hear the songs, some of the videos are pretty shitty)…

1. Wolf Like Me – TV on the Radio
2. It’s Not Enough – The Who (no link, you know who they are)
3. Wide Awake – Audioslave
4. Dimension – Wolfmother
5. Viscera Eyes – The Mars Volta
6. At The Age of Decay – Junius (WARNING: That’s a link to their myspace, w/o this song)
7. Give Your Heart Away – The Black Keys (link to live performance of another song)
8. Amsterdam – Mando Diao (WARNING: another myspace link w/o this song)
9. Stairway to Heaven – Rodrigo y Gabriela (yea, it’s a cover)
10. Crazy – Gnarls Barkley
11. Stadium Arcadium – The Red Hot Chili Peppers
12. U,U,D,D,L,R,L,R,A,B,Select,Start – Deftones
13. Freya – The Sword
14. Vicarious – Tool
15. Map of the Problematique – Muse

So there you have it. Compared to the lists most bloggers on the internet probably have, this is mainstream. The one band that probably very little have heard of is Junius, as they only have 12,000 listens on last.fm, and I was only turned onto the band by one guy I’m friendly with on NeoGAF. I’m not going to talk about every choice, but I’ll just say that I’m glad that I expanded my horizons a little bit this year. Even though most would say this list is still pretty mainstream, but if you knew me, you’d be surprised by the inclusion of the songs by TV on the Radio and The Black Keys.

I wish I was registered on some site to upload songs or had webspace on which I could host the audio versions of all the songs.

Valve Announces Prices and Contents for Orange/Black Boxes of Half-Life 2

2007 January 16
by CajoleJuice

Source: IGN

The Black Box is only available on PC and includes Half-Life 2: Episode Two, Portal and Team Fortress 2. It retails for $39.99.

The Orange Box is available for PC, PS3 and Xbox 360 and includes Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2: Episodes One and Two, Portal and Team Fortress. It retails for a modest $59.99.

The Orange Box has to be one of the greatest retail price bargains I’ve ever seen. You get one of the best FPS’s in recent memory with both of its expansion packs, one of the most ambitious games I’ve seen – Portal, and the sequel to one of the most beloved PC multiplayer games ever – Team Fortress. It’s a shame there’s no Counter-Strike: Source or Day of Defeat: Source, though. Regardless, if you own an Xbox 360 or PS3 (and not a high-end PC), you have no excuse not to pick up this package on day one, whenever that will be. At the moment, Valve is saying late summer.

Get ready for a Holiday 2007 release.

“Heroes” Was Just Killed By The Nuclear Blast on 24

2007 January 15
by CajoleJuice

NBC is retarded.

I guess NBC feels that having one of its most popular shows go up against 24 is the only course of action. Unfortunately, it is effectively killing its biggest appeal to a young audience by putting Heroes in the same time slot that Fox airs 24 – Monday at 9 PM. Jack Bauer is a mythical figure across dorm rooms and high schools across the country. Even guys in their 30s love him. So to put a show like Heroes up against him is basically like sending a soldier on a suicide mission. But 24 just had the pre-emptive strike tonight. They just exploded a nuclear device in a populated area. Heroes has confused young adults running around not knowing what to do with their powers, with horrible dialogue, and painful acting at times. 24 has Jack Bauer eating neck sandwiches.

There is no contest. Good job, NBC. You just lost a show that you probably were betting a lot of money on.

Tom Brady Is The Anti-Christ

2007 January 15
by CajoleJuice

This fact was made obvious by tonight’s ridiculous AFC Divisional Playoff game between the Patriots and Chargers. The Chargers were given multiple chances to seal the win, but freak occurances kept giving Brady and Co. opportunities to work their magic. There was an mind-blowingly stupid unnecessary roughness call brought on by Drayton Florence of the Chargers headbutting a Patriots player. There was another unnecessary roughness call that led to the Patriots getting great field position. Even when Brady threw the game away with his third INT of the game, Troy Brown managed to strip the ball for the Patriots to get it back. All these were definitely work of the Devil.

 

If that isn’t the face of pure metrosexual evil, I don’t know what is.

I knew the Chargers were fucked when Brady executed another one of his perfect 2-minute drives at the end of the first half. I have no clue where the hell that came from. I guess he hadn’t activated his true powers yet. The Chargers utterly dominated pretty much the entire first half, yet they only had a 14-10 to show for it. The second half saw the Chargers continue to play conservatively, and they paid dearly for it. Belichick and Brady just found a way to win, as they always do in the playoffs. I knew it. ESPN analysts owned.

Unfortunately, with their win, the Patriots have set up a week of agonizingly non-stop, overly dramatic coverage of the Colts-Pats matchup on ESPN. It really is the Red Sox-Yanks of the NFL. Maybe this is the year where the Colts finally break through. Why? Because they have the only man that combat the evil power of Tom Brady: Adam Vinatieri.

If You Missed the F-Bomb During the Eagles-Saints Game…

2007 January 14
by CajoleJuice

…even though I don’t know how you could have if you were watching.

They had the camera on her for a good few seconds too. Pretty funny if you ask me. I just wonder if Fox is going to get screwed over because of it. Apparently, this has happened before on ESPN…

But ESPN is a cable network and I don’t believe they are subject to the rulings of the FCC. If ESPN was, I don’t think that Bobby Knight movie would have been allowed to air.

I just really hope Fox isn’t fined. Janet Jackson ruined everything.

One last funny thing to end off this post of funny obscene sports moments on television…

Lee Corso = Owned.

Scrabble is Awesome, as is Adam Vinatieri

2007 January 14
by CajoleJuice

The Ravens had to see that pose five times yesterday. Each time, the football went through the uprights – except for the one time it hit the crossbar and bounced over. But that’s the way it goes for Vinatieri in the postseason. He’s the Mariano Rivera of football. Ultimate clutchness, especially when it comes to the postseason. God is just watching over him. Peyton Manning better buy him dinner all this week, as Vinatieri accounted for all 15 points the Colts scored. Can you imagine if he kicks a game winner against his old team next week in the potential Patriots-Colts matchup? It can happen. Actually, I’d take 2-1 odds that he’s the difference maker in that game.

But I shouldn’t get ahead of myself. The Patriots have to get through LT (how weird must that be for people who remember the era of Lawrence Taylor?) and the rest of the Chargers. On paper, the Patriots have to play a flawless game – but I think they can do it. Maybe I didn’t follow the NFL closely enough this season, but I don’t know how you bet against Brady and Belichick in the playoffs, especially when they’re getting more than a field goal on the line. It seems all the ESPN guys are doing it – except Sean Salisbury. And I hate him. Maybe I should switch my pick. For as much as I hate the Patriots, I can’t help but appreciate their greatness. Damn you, Tom Brady.

I wish my friends and I actually watched the second half of the Eagles-Saints game, as it turned out to be a great game. We couldn’t help but get distracted by the ping-pong table and something else – Scrabble. Yes, Scrabble. I don’t care what anyone says, it’s a great game. Maybe I just didn’t play board games enough with my family as a kid because I’m an only child, but I love board games way too much for a 20-year-old. Scrabble was just unbelievably addictive tonight. We were three-letter-word-making machines. Seriously, Scrabble isn’t going to help my vocabulary anytime soon. It’s all about strategizing around those triple-word-score boxes. They are so money.

…and this is why I have the “somewhat” in the title of my blog.

Michelle Wie is the Biggest Joke in Sports

2007 January 13
by CajoleJuice

That would be Michelle Wie on the verge of hitting another shot into the trees.

She just missed her seventh PGA Tour cut by 14 strokes, and her fourth consecutive cut at the Sony Open, at her home course. But hey, at least she didn’t get last like the last two PGA Tour events in which she played last year; she only got 3rd to last – she’s improving! For a 17-year-old girl she’s pretty damn good at golf. But she’s still a 17-year-old girl. Whoever keeps sponsoring these embarrassments really needs to stop wasting their money. The PGA can’t be too happy with it. The players certainly aren’t. I was really hoping Wie made a New Year’s Resolution not to make a fool out of herself anymore, but I guess she decided to push on in her quest for mediocrity in a place that she doesn’t belong.

Michelle Wie needs to learn how to win. She needs to play on the LPGA Tour and make some cuts there, or (shock!) maybe even win a few tournaments before she considers hitting from the men’s tees. Annika Sorenstam dominated the LPGA for years and then played a PGA tournament. You know what happened? She missed the cut. If the best LPGA player missed the cut in an PGA event, then some 17-year-old who hasn’t won jack shit other than events when she was very young shouldn’t be allowed within 1000 feet of a PGA Tour event.

I’ve had this opinion for a long time now, but I never had a blog to voice my discontent. Plus, I thought she might give up this charade after a while. I just don’t understand why any company would give this girl money to play golf worse than my 70-year-old great-uncle.

The funniest part about all this is that while everyone was watching Wie repeatedly slice balls into the crowd these past couple of days, another teenager was actually playing well. A 16-year-old by the name of Tadd Fujikawa managed to shoot a 4-under-par 66 on Friday to make the cut by 3 strokes. That’s just awesome. He’s the youngest player to make a cut in a PGA Tour event in 50 years. Good for him.

Source – ESPN.com

God of War II Info

2007 January 13
by CajoleJuice

IGN has a big new hands-on preview with a boss spoiler (but it’s an early boss). I personally am not going to read through it, as I already know the game is going to kick ass and that I’m going to purchase it day one. Next-gen consoles aren’t needed when games like God of War II are still getting released on PS2. The game will be awesome and I will be playing it on my $129 PStwo.

In addition, if you didn’t notice, God of War II will be shipping as a two-disc set. No special edition bullshit, no $10 price hike.

The second disc will include a number of bonuses including a full-length, behind-the-scenes documentary that was filmed over the entirety of the game’s development, starting with the very first playtest.

I don’t really care too much about bonus stuff like this in video games, but it’s pretty cool nonetheless. I just can’t wait for this game. I only recently played and beat the first one, and it is one of my favorite last-gen games. Kratos is so damn badass.