I Can’t Get Enough of Jack Bauer

2007 January 22
by CajoleJuice

I really thought I might have to ween off 24 this year. Last season was better than season 4, but nothing has really come close to the first two seasons. Fortunately, season 6 has been absolutely incredible so far. Sure, the writers seem to reaching more and more, but when you have a nuclear bomb going off in a populated area, Jack Bauer dracula’ing some guy, killing one of the only friends he has left, and then putting a plastic bag over his brother’s head, you have amazing television. Not to mention that who Jack’s brother is – the Bluetooth guy, Grey Bauer – was fucking mindblowing. I laugh at anyone who watched Heroes over 24 tonight.

Just this one line from tonight was phenomenal:

“If the next thing out of your mouth isn’t what I wanna hear, I’m going to hurt you.”
“Actually, you’re hurting me now.”
“Trust me, I’m not.”

Not to mention when Jack just sucker-punched Grey right in the face.

I really forgot just how exciting 24 is. Thank you, Jack Bauer.

Great Half-Life 2 Comic: Concerned

2007 January 22
by CajoleJuice

I’m actually only halfway through the entire catalog of comics numbering over 200, but so far, Concerned: The half-life and death of Gordon Frohman has to be one of the most entertaining game-related things I’ve ever stumbled across on the internet. Many of the comics aren’t really laugh-out-loud funny, but the vast majority are still smart (or stupid) enough to merit a reading if you have played Half-Life 2 and its various mods. But then there’s a few comics that are absolutely awesome, and terrifyingly true to life. The best example:

Pretty much sums it up.

Nintendo Releases Zelda: A Link to the Past. Again.

2007 January 22
by CajoleJuice

This time, the classic game is on the Virtual Console for the Wii. Congratulations Nintendo fans, now you can give Nintendo money for the same game for the third time. We all know that’s what’s happening right now. The same people who played and loved the game on SNES bought it on GBA as well – and now they’re paying another $8 to have it on the Wii. There’s no little kids out there buying these games, unless maybe their parents are forcing them too. (Side note: I will make my kids play NES, and they will LIKE it.) It’s the same Nintendo fans who lined up for days for a Wii who are buying all these games on the Virtual Console. The Wii might as well be one of those $40 illegal compilation systems that are sold in malls across the country. Oh wait, Nintendo cracked down on that. I wonder why. Maybe because their new system has a pitiful amount of decent games and all the owners can do at this point is dump money into the Virtual Console. That’s just my theory.

Maybe I’m being too harsh on Nintendo. At least they have released a bonafide classic on the VC, instead of more mediocre stuff that no one really wants. Maybe there are some people out there with a Wii that still haven’t played Zelda: ALTTP. I just find it extremely hard to believe. If someone wanted to play it, there were more than enough ways to accomplish that before this release.

COLTS WIN! COLTS WIN!

2007 January 21
by CajoleJuice

That was one of the most exciting games I’ve ever seen. The Colts were down 21-3 in the middle of the first quarter, and they managed to win 38-34. The biggest comeback in a Conference Championship game. Holy shit.

No Peyton Manning Face tonight.

The Patriots pretty much dominated the first half, and they went into the locker room with a 15 point lead with the score at 21-6. But the way the Manning and the Colts dominated the third quarter was masterful. I think they had possession for about 12 out of the 15 minutes. Before it was over, they had tied the score at 21, but Brady then fired back with another touchdown. Manning quickly shot back with another touchdown to tie it again at 28. Then they traded field goals to make the score 31-31. Brady then managed to get another field goal. This left Manning with a little over 2 minutes to drive 80 yards, and he did it. It wasn’t Vinateri that struck the final blow, but he did have 3 FGs over the course of the game. It was actually the running game that got the last few yards to push into the end zone to make it 38-34. If Brady drove down field in a minute to score a touchdown, I probably would have lit myself on fire. Fortunately, he was intercepted. Maybe he isn’t the Anti-Christ after all. I think I knew the Patriots were going to lose when Caldwell dropped his second wide-open pass from Brady. That just doesn’t happen to the Patriots. The roughing the passer penalty on the Colts’ last drive sealed the deal. Those types of mistakes are always deadly.

So I was wrong about the other game…the Bears ran the Saints into the ground. It looks like I’m probably going to end up rooting for Manning. If he puts together another performance like tonight’s, he deserves it. And it also means I won’t have to hear the endless Dan Marino comparisons anymore. I just hope Super Bowl XLI is as exciting as this game, and isn’t unbelievably anti-climactic like when the Red Sox swept the Cardinals in the 2004 World Series.

Listen to The Black Keys

2007 January 21
by CajoleJuice

Yep, that’s them. A blues-rock duo made up of two pasty white boys. I honestly didn’t imagine that voice coming out of one of these guys. The comparison I’ve heard a few times (one that I don’t like because I don’t like the band) is to The White Stripes. A badass blues version of them. A good version.

I acquired their latest album, “Magic Potion,” after the prodding of a certain forum denizen and I was pretty impressed. It’s just damn cool music. I went back and got the rest of their stuff and it’s just great, especially the album “Thickfreakness.” Sounds like something out of the 50s or 60s. I highly recommend you check out this band. Just so you won’t have to do any work, here’s a Youtube video (it’s actually a cover)…

And I thought I would be able to upload some songs, but apparently I missed where it said that you need the space upgrade in order to upload mp3 files. Damn it.

It Will Be Colts vs. Saints in Super Bowl XLI

2007 January 21
by CajoleJuice

For three simple reasons: The bad Rex Grossman and the good Peyton Manning will take their respective fields on Sunday.

But that’s only two, you say?

Oh wait: ADAM VINATIERI

I’m saying it just like I did last week – he will be the difference maker.

Even without his help, the fact that the Colts have won two games where Manning has a combined 5 INTs due to their suddenly amazing defense, added to the surprising reality that the Colts have beat the Patriots the last two times they’ve played, means the Colts better win this AFC Championship Game. Moreover, it’s not going to be played in Foxborough. God is giving Manning yet another chance to redeem himself. He better take it.

As for the Bears-Saints game, I’m predicting 2 INTs by Grossman, which will be enough to sink the Bears. The Saints offense will manage enough points against the Bears defense to win. I know it’s the popular pick right now…but it’s the feel-good story of the year. Come on.

Honestly, I’m just picking the two teams I really want to win. Last week, I picked the Patriots to win and I found myself actually rooting for them just so I would be right. I wanted to punch myself in the nuts. It was embarrassing. So this week, I won’t be conflicted: Saints. Colts.

It’s football time.

Awesome Youtube Tribute to Gob Bluth

2007 January 19
by CajoleJuice

All that’s missing is “The Final Countdown” and one of my favorite scenes involving Gob…

Gob: Steve Holt’s not my son.
George Michael: Steve Holt? What, the moron jock?
Gob: That’s my son, you pothead. *attacks George Michael*

Arrested Development is pretty much the best show out of the past decade of television. Gob is up there in the stratosphere of TV characters along with Jack Bauer, George Constanza and others. One part of me is sad that it’s over, the other is glad that it ended as possibly the best complete run of television ever. It’s just two and a half seasons of greatness.

XBLA Limit Increased to 250 MB

2007 January 19
by CajoleJuice

Source: 1UP

Under condition of anonymity, sources revealed to 1UP that the file size for Xbox Live Arcade titles has been increased from 50 MB to 250 MB and with Microsoft’s approval, that size can be expanded to 450 MB. When asked for comment on the reported change to file size, Microsoft said, “We do not comment on rumor and speculation and so we can not confirm that rumor.

This is a big deal to anyone with an Xbox 360. Microsoft already confirmed that Castlevania: Symphony of the Night was over the limit, but that it was an exception. Hopefully, Microsoft will officially announce this move soon and it won’t be the exception. It would definitely be awesome to see more games like SOTN be released on Xbox 360. It would at least help tempt me to buy the system. It seems that people who bought Core systems better buy the hard drive, or possibly wait for a 256 or 512 MB memory card to be released if they want to download certain games in the future. But everyone should have realized that was the “tard pack” anyway, so if someone was stupid enough to buy it, too bad.

…And O’Reilly on The Colbert Report

2007 January 19
by CajoleJuice

Once again, video courtesy of Colbert On Demand.

Yea, this was pretty great. Not amazing, but damn funny nonetheless. The book gag was great.

Stephen Colbert on the O’Reilly Factor

2007 January 18
by CajoleJuice

Video courtesy of Colbert On Demand.

Pretty much what I expected. Colbert stays in character and O’Reilly basically plays along. There were a few pretty funny lines.

O’Reilly will be on The Colbert Report in about 25 minutes, hopefully it’s a bit funnier. Although I bet that the audience of The Colbert Report will be pretty annoying and boo at everything O’Reilly says. We get it – you hate Bush, Fox News, and everyone associated with them.