Badass

2008 February 8
by CajoleJuice

I’m not even that big a fan of Casino Royale, but Daniel Craig was totally fucking awesome as Bond. And the one sheet for the next Bond film is great. So here it is.

By the way, the name of this direct sequel to Casino Royale (if you couldn’t tell by the pose), is Quantum of Solace.

My Mind Just Got Blowed…

2008 February 8

…blown…blowed out.

The writers of a blog that I really should start reading on a daily basis — Fire Joe Morgan — have announced their true identities. They are all TV writers. And one of them plays Mose Schrute, the brother of Dwight Schrute on The Office. I think I stopped watching The Office in the beginning of Season 4, so I missed his character being used more, but I do remember his bit spot in an episode of Season 3. Maybe he’s been concentrating more on writing Fire Joe Morgan, since that site has been awesome for a long time, while The Office pretty much dove off a cliff (but then again, pretty much every TV show did last year, personally). I don’t know why I never made it a habit to keep up with FJM. Well, I added it to my blogroll, so hopefully I’ll remember to read it daily now.

In other news, a high-school football player named Kevin Hart lied about getting recruited by two Division I programs. He even had a press conference at his school where he picked the school, with school officials and fellow classmates cheering his decision. No doubt he got laid shortly thereafter. Then it came out that the two colleges had never heard of him. It was all over the internet and ESPN. It looked like a poor, naive teenager and his parents had gotten duped by a ruthless faux-agent. It was funny, but sad at the same time.

Maybe he didn’t like being made to look like a fool, maybe he realized he couldn’t push the lie any further, but soon after Hart confessed and made himself look like the egotistical, douchebag football player he is. How do you make that shit up? How can he even attend high school anymore? On the other hand, hopefully this makes insane college football fans look at themselves and ponder why in God’s name they care about where high-school football players go to college. I’m glad my lies as a teenager were never nationally televised. But then again, I never got a press conference. So now it’s just funny.

By the way, this is the kid — in the Heisman pose pic (provided by Deadspin) that is oh so ironic:

If you ever happen to see him, make sure to point and laugh.

The Perfectville Commercial with Alternate Ending

2008 February 8

Needed to be posted.

Guitar Hero for REAL GUITAR!

2008 February 7
by CajoleJuice

Thanks, Engadget — even though this YouTube video (the same one on their site) has been up for 3 months. So while they’re behind the curve, it’s not like I knew about it, either.

Guitar Rising – due out in late 2008 for PC (and Mac)

So want this. I know you do too, Justin. I only wish I had an electric guitar instead of an acoustic guitar right now.

Insomnia

2008 February 7

Tumble through the internet for an hour or two, writing blog entries, watching videos, chatting incessantly with people thousands of miles away. Realize it’s way too fucking late. Close the laptop, hit the pillow, and wish for instant unconsciousness. Still awake after a minute. Two minutes. Thoughts fill the brain. Hey, Veronica never replied to my other email. Should’ve asked her a question. Blah. Mention her in another post and see if she comments again. Try to get comfortable. Lie still for a while. Damn, itch! Kick the covers around. Lie on my back and stare at the ceiling. More thoughts. Past failures, future decisions. Ugh. A pit in the stomach. Try to get comfortable again up against the pile of pillows. Contemplate various dreams, but even the most pleasant don’t induce sleep, just a semi-lucid daydream. Why can’t I fall asleep into them? Oh Christ, dick’s getting hard between my stomach and mattress. Can’t take care of this. Don’t want to get out of bed. Just try to think nothing. Shake off the boner but can’t shake off consciousness. Sit up and turn the light on to read. Maybe that’ll work. Pick up the book of the moment. Damn it, it’s late. Read a few pages. Eyelids become heavy. Words go blurry. Drop the literature bedside and click off the light. Ok, this time sleep will come. Still not going to wake up for class tomorrow. Missed so many classes already. Last semester was the same though, and look how that turned out. Nevertheless, a somewhat normal internal clock would be nice. What the fuck, another hour has gone by. And damn it, these covers are itchy. Almost tingling. And I showered. Need whatever Heath Ledger took. Just less of it. Hey, 3:33. I wish to fall asleep right now damn it! Listen to the dog dreaming and yowling a couple of rooms over. Want to be in the same state. Don’t know what I want to do with my life. Hate lying here ruminating. Just want to move far aw…

10:45? Eh, I can miss my first class.

(Yes, this was my version of Midnight Plunder, for those who get the reference)

GAF Movies of the Year

2008 February 7
tags: ,
by CajoleJuice

GAF has been doing a yearly vote on the Games of the Year for at least 4 years now. Each year, the amount of votes has grown exponentially, with the leading vote-getter this year (Super Mario Galaxy) getting over 5,000 points, or the equivalent of 500 first-place votes. I decided to follow the format and do a Movies of the Year thread over on the Off-Topic side. I have to say I’m pretty damn happy there’s not nearly as many unique people that regularly visit the OT side. I probably had only around 100 voters’ lists to tally, as opposed to prossibly 10 times as many on the gaming side. But it still took way, way too much time. I need to get better at spreadsheets.

Usually, I wouldn’t post something like this on my blog, but since I tallied the votes myself, I feel like pimping the results:

1. No Country for Old Men
2. There Will Be Blood
3. Ratatouille
4. The Bourne Ultimatum
5. Zodiac
6. Hot Fuzz
7. Superbad
8. Juno
9. 3:10 To Yuma
10. Eastern Promises
——————————————————————————————————————————————
11. Stardust
12. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
13. 300
14. Sunshine
15. Gone Baby Gone
16. Knocked Up
17. Once
18. Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
19. Michael Clayton
20. Atonement

Full results and vote totals at this post.

In Case You Missed It…

2008 February 6

…like I did…a late-night feud was finally settled last night. (Honestly, after watching all the videos in succession, all you need to watch is the final one. But I already posted all the others, so whatever.)

A feud had been going on for a while between Conan O’Brien, Stephen Colbert, and Jon Stewart. A little fun while the writers are striking. Here’s the backstory:

Conan vs. Colbert

Conan vs. Stewart

Last night, the Stewart-Colbert-Conan feud officially went EPIC. Sure it’s a bit corny, but that’s what late night television is. Still awesome.

Part 1 – The Daily Show

Part 2 – The Colbert Report

Finale – Late Night with Conan O’Brien

Yeah, the first two are taking way too long to load right now. I’m sorry that you need to deal with Comedy Central Motherload crap. Ugh. I’m going to post the links anyway. I wish there were a compilation video on YouTube. At least NBC is cool with this type of stuff.

Emmitt Smith feat. Chris Berman

2008 February 5
by CajoleJuice

Emmitt Smith has no business talking on television.

The Aftermath

2008 February 5

The failure of the Patriots in Super Bowl XLII has sent ripples through the fabric of America and has raised many questions not only in my mind, but in the minds of all football fans. If you want to bet on your favorite sports teams and play slot88 games to win exciting prizes, you may visit an online casino.

I’m going to try to go through some of them here.

Did we just see the end of the Patriots dynasty?

The Patriots defense is old, and it’s what ultimately failed them. All they needed to do was stop Eli Manning from driving down the field with two and a half minutes left, and they couldn’t even do that. Also, the recent Yankee dynasty ended in similar, shocking fashion in the 2001 World Series, and this choke job eerily parallels the collapse in the 2004 ALCS. Now Yankee fans have a comeback when a Masshole brings that up.

Will the Tiki Theory now replace the Ewing Theory?

I personally think it should. Now I was a Knicks fan through the 90s, so maybe I have a bias here, but Ewing never badmouthed his coach and former players, at least to my recollection. The dude played his heart out and was disgracefully traded away. They may have made the Finals the year after, but look at the Knicks organization now. Meanwhile, all Tiki Barber has done since (and even before) he retired was talk shit about Tom Coughlin and Eli Manning. I hope he really enjoys pretending he’s a legitimate broadcaster. He’s not going to win any rings doing that.

Is Archie Manning the greatest father ever?

The guy sired and raised back-to-back Super Bowl MVPs. Not only that, but they both stopped Tom Brady from winning two more Super Bowl rings. He is the man at the forefront of the battle of good vs. evil.

Did Bill Simmons really just write this?

Through some mutual friends, I had arranged to hang out with Brady’s crew for what promised to be a laid-back celebration in somebody’s hotel room, probably no more than 15-20 people since Brady’s circle is surprisingly and refreshingly small. Because it was a rare chance to catch Brady in an unguarded moment — and an important moment at that — I spent most of Friday and Saturday thinking about that first paragraph and all the different ways it could start. I kept seeing Brady sitting in a chair with his right ankle encased in ice, quietly sipping a bottle of champagne with a satisfied smile on his face, and Gisele would be there, and everyone would be recapping 19-0 and remembering the incredible season. I liked the thought of a famous person celebrating a historic night in such a totally normal and relatable way.

That is more embarrassing than anything I ever wrote in my LiveJournal.

How long until Gisele breaks up with Brady?

Well, Jessica Simpson hasn’t broken up with Tony Romo, and he’s a much bigger loser than Brady. It’s much more likely that Brady will get her pregnant and subsequently leave her.

How many tears did Junior Seau cry last night?

Is this the greatest Super Bowl ever?

I’m inclined to say it is, but I’ve only been watching them for 15 years or so. But my grandpa backs me up, and he made a point of saying this was better than Super Bowl III. Like I said yesterday, add up the Patriots going for 19-0, the Giants deciding to become unstoppable out of nowhere, Manning vs. Brady, and one of the most intense games you’ll ever see, PERIOD, and you get a spectacle worthy of the name Super Bowl.

Tom Brady HAHAHAHA

2008 February 4
by CajoleJuice

SOOOOOOO AWESOME.