New The Dark Knight Poster

2008 April 24
by CajoleJuice

This movie continues to build hype, managing to seem more badass every time. (I do have to say that the suit really looks a bit too busy.) But who cares, best superhero movie ever incoming July 18th. Also, rumors are that the movie will be close to 3 hours long. All the more reason it NEEDS to be the best superhero movie ever.

Awesome wallpaper version: http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/1839/dkwallpaperhw0.jpg

Because I Don’t Have Time to Write Something

2008 April 22
by CajoleJuice

Colbert Report Greatness: Edwards and Obama

2008 April 18

I searched YouTube for Hillary Clinton’s appearance as well, but I got rickrolled.

John Edwards

Barack Obama

So I Gave Up That Game Music Muxtape Idea

2008 April 15

Well, maybe I’ll register a separate muxtape for game music. I just couldn’t resist making a muxtape of rock songs. I tried to mix it up as well as I could within the genre. Lesser-known songs from popular bands, live performances, and songs from obscure indie bands. Songs bordering on metal, space rock, and acoustic guitar-driven love songs.

Muse – New Born (live)
Dredg – Hungover on a Tuesday
The National – Mr. November
Soundgarden – Slaves and Bulldozers
Junius – From the Isle of the Blessed
My Morning Jacket – One Big Holiday (live)
Yeasayer – Sunrise
Arcade Fire – (Antichrist Television Blues)
Neutral Milk Hotel – Two-Headed Boy
King Crimson – Epitaph
Nirvana – Scentless Apprentice (live)
Radiohead – True Love Waits (live)

More softer songs than I expected. I think I’ll keep updating and rotating songs out. Favorite that shit, people.

http://cajolejuice.muxtape.com/

The Mist is a Pretty Damn Good Movie

2008 April 14

Maybe I just went in with very low expectations. Maybe I’m fairly easy to please. Maybe my ignorance of the horror genre is bliss. I’m still not hesitant to highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to fill 2 hours with a well-paced movie. I especially recommend it to people with no faith in humanity, as that seems to be a major theme of the film. You will be amazed by the sheer stupidity of most of the people living in this quiet New England town.

The film deals less with the horror of the monsters than with the savagery, superstition, and the suppressed horror of human beings. The plot revolves around the social dynamics that form in a grocery store holdout amidst (lol puns) the unknown lurking throughout the outside fog. Without giving much away, it doesn’t go too well. I found it believable enough, as — like I always say — who the fuck knows how people would react to such a supernatural situation? Stupidity has always been a staple of the mainstream horror genre anyway.

The monsters themselves are decent enough. For a fairly low-budget film, the special effects more than suffice. I definitely was freaked out of my mind throughout one particular scene. But I hate bugs. UGHHHH. The film was also supposed to be black and white (and there is a new DVD release with it); I could see the monster designs and special effects holding up much better that way.

I’m sure you’ve heard that the ending is brutal. I thought it was brilliant. Completely devastating, but totally believable. As it was happening, my dad and I were talking, and I agreed with Tom Jane — because Tom Jane is awesome. He was great as Mickey Mantle, kicked ass as The Punisher, and just wants his kids back. I wish he took a role in Watchmen. But he might be teamed up with John McTiernan for an upcoming action movie called Run, so at least he’s got that going for him.

It’s just a shame his last name is Jane. Don’t know if he’ll ever reach Michael Biehn “underrated badass” status in my mind, if only due to that fact.

In closing, if you’re not a pansy, you should go rent The Mist as soon as possible. 2007 the best year of the decade for movies, confirmed yet again.

There Goes That Tiger Grand Slam Talk

2008 April 14

Another Masters, another 2nd place finish for Tiger Woods. That’s a shame. At least now we won’t have to hear weeks of Grand Slam talk leading up to the U.S. Open. I still think he’ll win at least 2 majors this year. He’s been too dominant so far this year, and just happened to have a pretty horrible tournament. It’s nice to finish in second even when you’re playing terribly by your own standards.

As for that other guy who dominates his sport brutally, Roger Federer hasn’t looked like himself. He didn’t win the first major of the year in his sport either. Novak Djokovic has developed into a major threat to stop Federer ever breaking Sampras’s Grand Slam record (yes!). Not to mention he lost to Andy Roddick for the first time in 12 matches. It’s evidently gotten to him, as he has hired a new coach. I can understand, as that’d be like if I ever lost to someone in Virtua Tennis. Would’ve been devastating.

Maybe I was a bit preemptive in continually saying that Federer was more dominant than Tiger. Yet, at the same time, the period of dominance a player can have in tennis is much shorter than the one a golfer can achieve. Federer is already past his prime, and Tiger is still in the middle of it. The latter just has to play against every single other player each weekend, and this weekend some random English guy was better.

Johan Santana is Human?!?

2008 April 13
by CajoleJuice

AHHH THE SKY IS FALLING

WHAT HAPPENED!?!?

3 HOMERS!!!

5 RUNS!!

SANTANA IS A BUST!!!

Oh wait, he still has the lowest WHIP on the pitching staff. (Nelson Figueroa doesn’t count!)

This wouldn’t be post-worthy if it weren’t for fans in attendance at Shea BOOING as Santana walked off the mound to the dugout. What the fuck is wrong with Mets fans? And when asked about it, Santana owned all of them:

“If they boo, that’s fine,” Santana said. “That’s a history they got from not being so good, I guess.”

The man’s got a point. He has one bad game — after throwing two gems — and he’s getting booed already. Mets fans are just way too angry and impatient for their own good after the epic collapse last year. The team is .500 even without Pedro, El Duque and Duaner Sanchez, the last of which is a big question mark coming back. The Mets bullpen would be about 150% better with Sanchez in 2006 pre-taxi-accident form.

Getting back to the booing, I can’t believe it happened as the Mets were going for their 4th straight win. Maybe if they had lost their last three games it would make more sense to me, no matter how little, but I mean COME ON. He’s the savior of the Mets pitching staff! Instead of booing, they should be offering him their first born, even after letting up the third HR of the day.

Stupid Hippies: China Olympics Protest Sign

2008 April 11

I got nothin.

Uwe Boll is Awesome

2008 April 9
by CajoleJuice

A few days ago, Uwe Boll said in an interview that he would stop making movies if a petition got a million signatures. Of course, the internet immediately got to work.

This is Boll’s response.

If nothing else, the man has confidence! Unfortunately, that pro-Boll petition isn’t doing so well.

149,079 to 476.

BUY IKARUGA ON XBLA NOW

2008 April 9
by CajoleJuice

BUY IT

BUY IT NOW

Back when it was on Dreamcast and Gamecube, I never quite wanted to fully recommend it, since it’s not a game for pussies, and for $40, some people might complain about the short length (even though it’s a SHMUP). But now you can buy it for $10 (800 MS points) and can download it in minutes, I command you to buy it. Not to mention it’s in HD, and has online play and leaderboards. The game is probably now the best looking game on the service, has tight controls coupled with ingenius, simple mechanics, and is so difficult you will break your record for obscenities per minute while playing. But you will learn to enjoy getting your ass pounded by this game, over and over.

BUY IT